I often get asked for writing advice or advice related to self-publishing. “What’s your secret?” They ask. I don’t know what information some people think I posses, because in the grand scheme I am a very tiny minnow fighting the current. However, I always try to answer what questions I am able to. The truth is there is no secret. The publishing world evolves every day. It moves so quickly that you’ll never be able to keep track of it all.

My advice, go back in time to 2010 and start networking and writing then, because you’ll never capture the readership the leading Indies were able to reach in the beginning. Social media was different. Facebook didn’t hide post and if you liked a page they didn’t have to pay for you to see what they had to say.

I made so many mistakes when I started out. I still make them. I just try not to keep repeating the same ones.

I have so many social media profiles I have lost track of them all. Being a self-published author is hard work and it’s exhausting. Be prepared to be married to your work. I consider myself a one woman publishing house, because I do everything myself.

I don’t have a  PA (personal assistant) who handles my email or  handles my website and all the other lovely things you will need to keep up with. Some do and I am happy they are able to do so, but it isn’t feasible for me.

Truth is no one has this whole author thing figured out and if they do they keep that information to themselves. However, what sells one book isn’t always going to work for you.

The best piece of advice I can give you is to do your research ahead of time. Know who your target audience is. Know what kind of cover is appealing for that genre. Have a great blurb that when a potential reader reads it they say, “Hey, I have to read this now!”

That’s all I have for now. Happy writing!

 

Leave a Reply

