This post is a little different from what I would normally blog about. It’s usually my books I am on about, but today I want to talk to you about Facebook/social media addiction. I never really thought I had a problem until I removed messenger and the Facebook application from my phone.

I never realized how much time I spent staring at my phone, instead of interacting with my family. I wasn’t obsessed, I was addicted. Constantly checking my pages, my inbox, groups, making sure I went through my hundreds of notifications.  I feel as though I looked down at my phone and five years of my life passed me by.

Everything is so instant these days and don’t get me wrong, I love Facebook for how it connects us like never before, but I hate it too. Facebook encourages this always available behavior. Now on like pages  you get a rating on how responsive you are to messages, based on how quickly you reply to someone. I used to stress over that little green check that said very responsive. I used to feel guilty when Facebook would tell me, reply to messages faster on my like page. I even downloaded a pages manager application for that too.

I can’t do it anymore. I won’t be wasting away online. My writing has suffered from my need to be constantly online, following trends, chasing likes, hoping to sell my books. It isn’t healthy and it isn’t fair to my family to be constantly looking at Facebook instead of them.

Don’t get me wrong, I do love Facebook and connecting with readers and friends. Only, I can’t be as active as I once was. I want my life back away from social media. I miss all the things I used to enjoy. I challenge you to remove the apps from your devices and see how many times you go to grab them to check Facebook in just one day.  I think you might be surprised. Anyway, I am sure there was more I wanted to say about this topic, and I am sure it can apply to more than Facebook, but I hope it resonates with some of you.

Leave a Reply

